top of page
Fluffy Clouds

Behind the Curtain #6: Spring Has Sprung



Spring is (kinda) here! Flowers are (sorta) blooming, the sun is (sometimes) shining, and the temperatures are rising (ish), and it's a busy time in the industry with a whole season of new works on their way into Broadway theatres over the next couple months. I figured with the change of season, now's as good a time as any to update you all on ✨The Wonderful World of Heidi-Liz Johnson✨.


In terms of the theatre, I am very happy (and very fortunate) to be able to say that I've been working almost consistently for the better part of 2024. Every time I think I don't have another project on the horizon, something else comes up to keep me busy. And I must say, as much as I hate to admit it, this industry really does function through connections. When I take a look at the projects I have coming up, half of them came from recommendations through past or current works and auditions. It's been a bit of a whirlwind, but I am feeling so thankful for every opportunity that has come my way this year.


As of right now, I'm working on and/or contracted with five (?!) projects, which will take me until mid August, and I have prospective projects on the horizon that would take me through the end of the year. I'm finishing up the run of Cinderella the Musical with Literally Alive this weekend, then I'm going into rehearsals for the concert version of a new musical, Treeson, at 54 Below, then I'm participating in two developmental readings in May and June (one of which started this past weekend and took me on a road trip to Philadelphia), then I'm heading off to perform in a regional production over the summer. Further details on those last three projects to come, but like, WHAT?! How did we get here?! I'm a working actor, and it feels really, really good to be in this place.


Aside from my own theatre ventures, Mychal begins his third and final leg of the Little Women tour this week, and I am still the proudest wife. His Professor Bhaer is simply superb, and even though I already got to see the show during the second leg while they were in upstate NY, I can't wait to see his show again -- and this time share it with my family on the west coast.


So much upcoming excitement, the whirlwind continues! This spring has become much busier than I could have ever hoped, and I am endlessly grateful. So if you'll excuse me, I have to get back to learning new music, recording new self-tapes, updating my calendar, as well as soaking up all the time with my precious husband that I possibly can before the whirlwind separates us for a while. If you'd like to keep up with more of my day-to-day adventures and for more details on those upcoming works, make sure you're following me on Instagram for more: @heidilizjohnson.


Thanks for reading, #DreamTeamHLJ, and happy spring! May it be a productive one!

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page